Nathan’s Top 10 Games of 2011

So it’s New Years Eve. Excited for the New Year? I’m looking forward to all the new games that are being released, such as Halo 4 and Sonic 4 Episode 2. But instead of looking to the future, let’s look to the past, as we celebrate my Top 10 Games of 2011!

10. The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time 3D (3DS)
Ocarina of Time is possibly one of the most loved Zelda games of all time. So the idea of re-releasing it, in beautiful 3D, while retaining what made the original so great, was a dead winner. And now that we know where it fits in in the timeline, even better!

9. Halo Combat Evolved Anniversary (Xbox 360)
What I just said about Ocarina, can also be applied to Halo CEA, even the 3D visuals. It’s just that I prefer Halo to Zelda. And the addition of the feature that allows you to see what the game looked like 10 years ago, was an amazing idea!

8. Call of Duty Modern Warfare 3 (PS3)
As a person who prefers a game of Halo over CoD, you may be surprised to see that Modern Warfare 3 takes a higher spot. In the past, I’ve never been to keen on CoD multiplayer, but this is definetly some of the best I’ve seen in a while, but I’ve always enjoyed the campaign in CoD games, and this game thought “why change tradition?”. Even if the “new” Survival mode is just another variant of Firefight or Horde or any other name that it’s been given over the years, this game was excellent.

7. Pokemon Black/White (DS)
Now the formula for Pokemon hasn’t changed in the 20 odd years it’s been around, and thank the lord it hasn’t. It still retains the same quality of gameplay that every previous game has, and even though when you bring it down to basics, you’re playing a game that was released ages ago on the GameBoy, it doesn’t get old.

6. Doctor Who: The Gunpower Plot (PC- Best PC Game)
I’ll forgive you if you haven’t heard of this one, being as though it’s release was extremely quiet. Hell, even I don’t remember how I heard about it. But, when you can, head over to the Doctor Who website, to find a well made game, that flawlessly combines elements of stealth, puzzles and story, into one amazing game. It’s also free for people in the UK. Also, checkout the first series.

5. Castleminer Z (Xbox 360)
Thank god, my friend’s Xbox broke, otherwise I might never have found out about this game, or the normal Castleminer. The fact that you begin with next to nothing, and the fact that you have to mine to make everything you need, adds extra difficulty to surviving. And when I say everything, I mean everything. It is a brilliant survival game, and I recommend downloading it. However I did have to change my avatar to play it. Dr Robotnik wearing a reindeer hat didn’t really suit the tone.

4. Professor Layton and the Spectre’s Call (DS- Best DS Game)
The professor is at it again, although technically, he’s just starting, being as though this is a prequel. But with an immersive new story, wonderful new characters, and most importantly, mind bending puzzles, this new Professor Layton game is a must for… well anyone.

3. Super Mario 3D Land (3DS- Best 3DS Game)
How can you go wrong with Mario? It really seems as though you can’t. Nintendo have made another gem, with Super Mario 3D Land. From the graphics to the music, eveything just works so well. And the fact that this game utilises the 3D effect, with parts that you need it on to see where to go, making it more than just something pretty to look at, is brilliant. As soon as I played the first level, I fell in love with platforming all over again.

2. Batman Arkham City (Xbox 360)
I can’t remember why I bought Arkham Asylum. All I know, is that I’m glad I did, because as soon as I played it, I was hooked. When I completed it, it just left me hungry for more. So it’s a good thing Arkham City came out. The story is amazing, and the perfect balance between action packed combat and, my favourite part of the game, strategic stealth sections (try saying that quickly) makes this almost the game of the year for me.

Before we reach my number one game, let’s have a look at some games that didn’t make the list, but were still good.

Honourable Mentions:

Mario Kart 7
Portal 2
Goldeneye 007 Reloaded
Mario and Sonic at the London 2012 Olympic Games
Transformers Dark of the Moon (Yes, a movie based game, that’s not Goldeneye.)
Gears of War 3
Full House Poker
Conduit 2
Forza 4

So what could be my game of the year? Take a wild guess…

1. Sonic Generations (Xbox 360- Game of the Year)
If you’ve read my review for this game, you know why I love it. Sonic Team really hit the nail on the head with this game. It deserves nothing less than my Game of the Year. Hope to see Sonic here next year! By the way, this is only the Xbox/PS3 version. I don’t enjoy the 3DS version as much, but it’s still good.

So those are my top ten games of 2011! It’s been an outstanding year, and I’m hoping for more of the same in 2012. Before we all die. That 2012 doomsday stuff, ain’t gonna happen. Cuz if it does, this will be my first and last list.Oh well, back to playing Sonic Generations. And Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

